FIFA World Cup All Time Winners

Being the biggest and very popular global tournament, the FIFA World Cup is accepted worldwide. Most people throughout the world watch and follow this wonderful event. Every 4 years, there is one tournament of the contest. Apart from the years 1942 and 1946, when it was temporarily halted due to World War 2. In this blog post, we are going to provide you the FIFA world cup all time winners list, runners-up, leading goal scorers, and, etc. from each World Cup. So, stick to the end if you are a true fan of the FIFA World Cup. Let’s start without any further delay!

History of FIFA World Cup Winners

The teams from various international associations compete in the FIFA World Cup, which is a men’s football sporting event. The 1930s season saw the debut of the FIFA World Cup. In reality, every football team worldwide aims to win and wants to be on the fifa world cup all champions list. 

There are lots of loyal supporters of this most famous international tournament. Uruguay became the first team in the year 1930 to be listed among the fifa world cup all champions list. The winning team scored four goals against Argentina, compared to just 2 for the losing team.

Uruguay is acting as the tournament’s debut host nation. Brazil is the country that has won the FIFA World Cup 5 times, and it also holds the honor of having participated in every FIFA World Cup game. In 2018, Russia hosted the most recent FIFA World Cup. 

The event was also known as the 21st FIFA World Cup or the 21st edition of the FIFA World Cup. France was the winning team of that year. This tournament had 32 competing teams. At Luzhniki Stadium, France defeated Croatia in the final match by scoring four goals. In 2022, Qatar will host the FIFA World Cup from November 21 to December 18, 2022.

FIFA World Cup all Time Winners List From 1930 to 2018

The FIFA World Cup winners list has been highlighted in chronological order. You can learn more about the history of this tournament and choose your favourite team by looking at this list of FIFA World Cup winners and runners-up.

YearsWinnersRunner-upsPlayer of the tournament
1954West GermanyHungaryFerenc Puskas
1966EnglandWest GermanyBobby Charlton
1974West GermanyNetherlandsJohan Cruyff
1982ItalyWest GermanyPaolo Rossi
1986ArgentinaWest GermanyDiego Maradona
1990West GermanyArgentinaSalvatore Schillaci
2002BrazilGermanyOliver Kahn
2006ItalyFranceZinedine Zidane
2010SpainNetherlandsDiego Forlan
2014GermanyArgentinaLionel Messi
2018FranceCroatiaLuka Modric

Leading FIFA World Cup Goal Scorers in the History

Each nation has the opportunity to highlight its top players at the World Cup. The record for the maximum number of goals ever scored in World Cup finals matches belongs to the now-retired Miroslav Klose.

Here is the list of all-time leading top goal scorers: of playerCountryNumber of goals
1Miroslav KloseGermany16
3Gerd MullerWest Germany14
4Just FontaineFrance13
6Sandor KocsisHungary11
7Jurgen KlinsmannGermany11
8Helmut RahnWest Germany10
9Gary LinekerEngland10
10Gabriel BatistutaArgentina10
11Teofilo CubillasPeru10
12Thomas MullerGermany10
13Grzegorz LatoPoland10
15Christian VieriItaly9
17David VillaSpain9
18Paolo RossiItaly9
20Roberto BaggioItaly9
21Karl-Heinz RummeniggeWest Germany9
22Uwe SeelerWest Germany9

Winner of the Most FIFA World Cup 

Here is the list of most fifa world cup all champions list:

TeamWinsYears won
Brazil51958, 1962, 1970, 1994, 2002
Germany41954, 1974, 1990, 2014
Italy41934, 1938, 1982, 2006
Argentina21978, 1986
Uruguay21930, 1950
France21998, 2018

FAQs Related to FIFA World Cup all Champions list

1) How many teams have achieved victory at the FIFA World Cup?

From 1930 to 2018, 9 teams won the FIFA World Cup overall.

2) Which nation participates in FIFA the most?

24.74% is the rate of participation in the United States. Germany has 5.36%, whereas the United Kingdom has 5.27%, Russia has 4.32%, and Brazil has a 4.04% participation rate. 

3) Has a team ever won 4 FIFA World Cup trophies?

FIFA World Cup victories have been shared four times between Germany and Italy.

4) Who won the FIFA World Cup tournament for the first time?

The 1930 champion was Uruguay.

5) Which country has won the most World Cups in FIFA history?

Brazil is the nation with the most wins, having won five FIFA World Cups, and is the only one to have taken part in every tournament. 

6) How many teams will compete in the 2022 World Cup?

From November 20 to December 18, 32 of the world’s best national football teams representing five different federations will fight in Qatar for the FIFA World Cup 2022 trophy.


Canada, the United States, and Mexico will co-host the 2026 World Cup, enabling Mexico, the first country to host tournaments in three World Cups. We believe that you found the fifa world cup all champions list beneficial.

Leave a Comment